Plastic Free

May 8, 2007 at 6:16 pm 1 comment

My mom told me about EnviroWoman, a local woman who going completely plastic-free in 2007. Plastic free…just think about it!

Going plastic free means nothing that contains even a plastic wrapper can make the cut. Most packaged food is out, as are most toiletries, toilet paper and other essentials. It really makes you realize how much unnecessary plastic packaging is out there. She is using up what she has and seeking plastic free alternatives – which seem to be out there and are often local.

One of the things I am focusing on right now is my challenge to avoid using non-biodegradable plastic bags. I bring my cloth bags with me everywhere I go…and using them. I am buying cereals, pasta, rice, snacks, etc from the bulk bin with my recently purchased cloth produce bags. Now I’m going to follow her lead and when the time comes to replenish and replace I’m going to seek out plastic-free products like deodorant from Lush and bed sheets from BED or Dream Designs.

Very inspiring! What steps are you taking towards a plastic free lifestyle?

Entry filed under: Reducing Our Impact.

Laundry Day My New Water Bottle

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  May 12, 2007 at 3:01 am

    I like her blog too…it often seems completely overwhelming when I think about plastic. It’s EVERYWHERE. I was amazed to read that there was plastic inside aluminum cans! Crazy.

    I use a metal container to carry food in to the park, etc. I still find myself using plastic baggies, but I reuse them. I want to get rid of them completely. I have a couple of cloth sandwich wraps that are nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About


I am passionate about reducing my impact on the environment and am learning to live simply and live green. I am learning the age old arts of home food preservation and cooking from scratch. This is yet another eco-blog and a place for me to really channel my passions for writing, photography and sustainable living.
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pledge to Buy Handmade

Recent Posts

Categories


