Jamarama

June 25, 2007 at 10:14 pm 2 comments

strawberrypicking.jpg

I have great memories of heading out to pick strawberries with my Mom and brothers. Mostly I remember eating the perfectly ripe berries straight off the plant. Why has it been so long since I did this?

Well yesterday we went to a local farm and proceeded to U-Pick many yummy local (unfortunately not organic) strawberries.  Today I spent 4 hours making my very first batches of jam EVER. What I learned – making jam is easy, fun, rewarding and craaaazy delicious.  My first batch didn’t thicken up as much as I would like. The second batch looks much better.  In total I made 16 jars of jam.

We followed up the strawberry picking with a visit to the Reifel Bird Sanctuary. Here we walked along the dykes, fed ducks, spotted some baby goslings and a lone heron. We made it back to the car just in time for a huge thunderstorm to roll over head. Thunder, lightening and much rain followed.

A great afternoon spent outdoors.

Entry filed under: 100 Mile Diet, Around Town, Preserving, Reducing Our Impact.

Local Food Month Green Vacation

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sparow  |  July 19, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    I love making jam! We’ve made blackberry jam, and apple butter, and apple-maple butter. We also made apple jelly (jelly is a LOT harder to make than jam…) and turned it into a giant apple jolly rancher. The apple-quince jelly came out much better. This year’s first jam however, peach jam, didn’t come out all that great. Should’ve made spiced peach jam, not just plain. Oh well, live and learn! Your strawberry jam looks fabulous, though!

    Reply
  • 2. Adventures in Canning « Design is our Nature  |  August 11, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    […] been picking, purchasing and preserving large amounts of my favourite fruits. I’ve made strawberry jam, blueberry/raspberry jam and today my neighbour and I canned 40 lbs of peaches (20 lbs […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About


I am passionate about reducing my impact on the environment and am learning to live simply and live green. I am learning the age old arts of home food preservation and cooking from scratch. This is yet another eco-blog and a place for me to really channel my passions for writing, photography and sustainable living.
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Pledge to Buy Handmade

Recent Posts

Categories


