Freecycle

July 12, 2007 at 3:51 pm 2 comments

logo3.jpg

I LOVE freecycle. For those who have never heard of Freecycle before it is grassroots and entirely nonprofit movement of people who are giving (& getting) stuff for free in their own cities and towns. One person’s trash can truly be another’s treasure!

Our community purchased a great natural gas BBQ in the Spring. Since then our old propane BBQ has seen little to no use. Well I decided to help it find a new home and posted it on freecycle. I had lots of interest in it and last night it went on it’s way to a new life with a young family who otherwise could not afford a bbq right now. I did good and now have more space and less clutter on my patio. The bbq will see some love and use once more. All is right in the world.

Now what else can I freecycle?

Entry filed under: Books/Movies/Web Resources, Frugal Living, Reducing Our Impact, Things I LOVE.

Green Vacation A 100 Mile Meal

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara  |  July 13, 2007 at 2:09 am

    Another Freecycle lover here too. We used it TONS when we initially downsized our house. I wish I would have had more time to Freecycle stuff here in Bozeman, but when you’re in a hurry it’s a bit harder (due to people saying they will pick it up and then don’t, etc). I found all of my cast iron pans (4 of them!) on Freecycle.

    I actually met a good friend through Freecycle! We got to chatting over the emails we were sending back and forth and found we had much in common 🙂 So our families had dinner together and we’re still friends today. A Freecycle romance.

    Reply
  • 2. activistmommy  |  July 15, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    I’m a huge fan of Freecycle. I should be, I run the local group here. LOL I’ve managed to hand off so many things that were just taking up space and otherwise would have ended up in the trash.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About


I am passionate about reducing my impact on the environment and am learning to live simply and live green. I am learning the age old arts of home food preservation and cooking from scratch. This is yet another eco-blog and a place for me to really channel my passions for writing, photography and sustainable living.
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Pledge to Buy Handmade

Recent Posts

Categories


