Halve It

August 1, 2007 at 5:20 pm 2 comments

summerbanner.jpg 

This post is inspired by Sharon at Casaubon’s Book. If you haven’t stumbled upon her site via the Riot for Austerity it is full of extremely well thought out and well written posts. A word of caution…be prepared to spend a lot of time there!

In Sharon’s recent post she talks about something I have been trying to do for awhile now…using half as much. Using half as much quite literally translates into half as much pollution, half as much waste, half as much money spent, half as much STUFF in our lives. What a simple way to reduce our consumption and have a positive impact on our environment.

True we cannot cut everything in half, however, for many things (like detergents) using half the manufacturers recommended amount will still get your clothes, dishes, toilet just as clean. In fact the product will last twice as long and chances are you won’t notice the difference. I took Sharon’s advice and watered down my dish soap and have been really conscious of using less shampoo when I wash my hair and less laundry soap when I put a load of clothes in. Just for the record my dishes, hair and clothes are all coming up clean.

With the lovely summer weather I have been hanging more and more of our laundry outside to dry and reducing our dryer use by much more than half. In fact for the month of August I have challenged myself to see if I can go without the dryer. Going without a dryer won’t work for us all year (we live in very damp Vancouver, BC) but could we go without the dryer for half the year?

What about the clothes in our closets? Could we cut that in half? Toys? Books? You get the idea. Sara at Walk Slowly, Live Wildly had a great post recently about STUFF. It got me looking more closely around our place and resulted in a purge of STUFF.  The amazing thing is I can hardly notice that I cleared out 2 full garbage bags of clothing, toys and books.

The other area I am trying to cut is my use of the car. I have committed myself to riding my bike to the office one day a week…not an easy task as it involves a 10km ride with numerous hills and going over one of the scariest bridge I’ve ever ridden across. But One Day can and will make a difference.

What can you halve?

Entry filed under: Frugal Living, Reducing Our Impact.

What is your Walk Score? Adventures in Canning

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. livelightly  |  August 6, 2007 at 7:20 am

    Great post! I hadn’t seen this over there yet…and it’s a great concept. I agree on the soaps/detergents. I’ve been using hardly any laundry soap for years and it works just the same.

    Congrats on the purge! Isn’t it amazing how much stuff we can get rid of and it doesn’t even make a dent? I’m also amazed that I never even miss it. AT ALL.

    Nice job on the bike commitment too…that’s awesome!

    Reply
  • […] bought green cleaners for years – good for the environment but not the pocket book. I always use much less than what the manufacture recommends.  The product last a long time however it feels like […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About


I am passionate about reducing my impact on the environment and am learning to live simply and live green. I am learning the age old arts of home food preservation and cooking from scratch. This is yet another eco-blog and a place for me to really channel my passions for writing, photography and sustainable living.
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Pledge to Buy Handmade

Recent Posts

Categories


