Things I LOVE – Our Local Library

September 25, 2007 at 5:20 pm 3 comments

Imagine if you will a place close enough to walk to where you can go in select anything off the shelves you want and take it home without playing a dime. You can even go online and request an item from this great place (or others close by) and the wounderful staff will put it aside for you.

I LOVE our local library. I love that whenever I hear about a great book I simply log onto the library website and request it. I get a phone call on my cell to let me know when it arrives and go pick it up. The little one and I make a weekly trek to the library to fill her library tote with new books to cuddle up with on the couch and read…and read…and read.

What I have out right now:
The Kite Runner
Prodigal Summer
Hollyhock Cooks: Food to Nurish Body, Mind and Soil

Oneskein: 30 Quick Projects to Knit and Crochet
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life
Last Child in the Woods: Saving Our Children from Nature-Deficit Disorder


Waiting On:

A Thousand Splendid Suns
Stuff : The Secret Lives of Everyday Things
Playful Parenting

Last Minute Knitted Gifts

Well as the evenings get cooler I look forward to snuggling up on the couch and reading a few good books…well, when I’m not knitting!  Any good book recommendations…???

Entry filed under: Around Town, Books/Movies/Web Resources, Compacting, Frugal Living, Things I LOVE.

The Knitting Season I’m Still Here…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Debby  |  September 25, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Hooray for libraries!

    Kite Runner — good
    Prodigal summer — EXCELLENT

    Look for The Boleyn Inheritance by Philippa Gregory and Body Surfing by Anita Shreve. Probably the 2 books I’ve enjoyed most this year.

    Also check out Mason/Dixon Knitting, if you haven’t already.

    Reply
  • 2. 2hcreative  |  September 25, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Debby,

    Thanks for the book recommendations. I’ve read several of Anita Shreve’s novels and will add Body Surfing and the others to my list.

    HH

    Reply
  • 3. Tara  |  October 6, 2007 at 4:33 am

    ~found your site thru livelightly.com~ I am a huge library devotee. We live about 3 blocks away from our town’s library and we walk there at least once a week for our stash that usually includes 3 kids DVDs, 3 other DVDs (that we almost never get around to watching), a small pile of board books, and a novel or two for mama.

    I hope you post on how you like Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. I loved it. I’m generally a Kingsolver fan, especially her fiction, and I thought that AVM is as excellent as anything else of hers that I’ve read. Enjoy!

    My latest obsession- the Maisie Dobbs books by Jacqueline Winspear. They’re kind of Agatha Christie/Alexander McCall Smith-esque but in postwar England and very well written.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About


I am passionate about reducing my impact on the environment and am learning to live simply and live green. I am learning the age old arts of home food preservation and cooking from scratch. This is yet another eco-blog and a place for me to really channel my passions for writing, photography and sustainable living.
September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Pledge to Buy Handmade

Recent Posts

Categories


