Thrifty LOVE

February 14, 2008 at 6:01 pm 2 comments

pastamakerii.jpg

Yesturday was a beautiful sunny day. Cool and crisp but the sun…oh the sun…it was so nice to see you. The sun called me outside and I ventured  down the hill to the local thrift store to see what was in store.

I love thrifting. I love looking through all of the items that people have decided to pass on and wondering what the story is. I love that this is recycling…the whole someone elses trash is my treasure type of idea. I love finding just the right item. I have a running list of items that I’m on the look for. I tend to only buy things that I have an immediate use for (and a place for) in my home. Today was such as day.

I remember when I was younger my mom had a pasta maker and we would make pasta together. It was magical to watch the dough transform into noodles and then to cook an eat our delicious creations. Today I found a barely used Atlas Pasta Maker very similar to the one my family had. It was also on for 50% off and cost a whopping $7.

I know what I’m going to be making my sweetie for Valentines!

Entry filed under: Around the House, Around Town, Compacting, Frugal Living, In the Kitchen, Things I LOVE, Thrifting.

2º of Fear and Desire Raising Environmentally Conscious Kids

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Late Bloomer  |  February 16, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Great deal!! I paid close to $60 for mine. I made butternut squash ravioli a couple of months ago and it was great, although I struggled with the dough a bit. If you have any recipes, I’d love to be able to try them.

    Reply
  • 2. Late Bloomer  |  February 17, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Hi,
    Given the sustainable focus of your blog, and the fact that you’re a parent, I tagged you for a meme – Top Three Tips For Raising Environmentally Conscious Kids. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About


I am passionate about reducing my impact on the environment and am learning to live simply and live green. I am learning the age old arts of home food preservation and cooking from scratch. This is yet another eco-blog and a place for me to really channel my passions for writing, photography and sustainable living.
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Pledge to Buy Handmade

Recent Posts

Categories


